Mix It UP Monday: Life Documented

Its a whole other challenge for Mix it up.. so that means time to get messy my most favorite thing to do. This challenge called on the use of a stencil in a different way. And I decided to try something I never did before.

The first thing I did was cut a stencil using a blank stencil plastic that I picked up at Michael’s. I used the deep cut blade (set at 20, pressure 33, speed 3 and double cut) to cut out this free cut file at Paper Issues.

 

stencil

I then used a piece of water color paper and outlined the stencil with a pencil and used water color to fill in the squares.

watercolor

From there I used a black sharpie to outline the squares.

sharpie

 

I had something in my head when I started all of this but as I went along things didn’t translate well on paper . I wanted to make a boy LO and thought the colors would go with the Crate Paper line but it did not work out in any way shape or form. I then dug in my stash and ended up in a place I never thought I would go using frames of all things. Yes I had a package of frames from Simple Stories Life in Color that ended up on my page.

life-documented

I’m not even sure how I got here and one point wanted to just scrap it and start all over again but I must say I do love how it came out. I added more of the stencil as I went along I think that was one of the best things of working with a stencil this way. The frames took on a life of their own and a few embellishments along the way really pulled this LO together. I added a cut out the same as the stencil just a little smaller in white to break up some of those really bold colors in the background.

Yes this is really busy, lots going on and so much movement and that sums up our day at the zoo which I documented here. I really loved working with the stencil like this and I can see it being a great way to add flowers or swirls to any LO that I feel just needs a bit more.

 

Don’t forget if you need to go shopping use my code for 20% off your total purchase. Now go get your stencil on 🙂

 

discount

Leave a Reply

