Rocking Hybrid

It must be the fall-ish weather we are having that made me so slow to move today. I could have taken a nap at any point today but I didn’t I did what any normal scrapping gal does I scrolled through galleries. And I came across a LO with The Lillypads freebie template challenge and I thought I need to do this. Its an awesome template that is so simple but can really stand out in a gallery.

The image is linked so don’t forget to go check it out. I did point out in another post that digi stores are a great source of templates that any paper scrapper can use and adapt to make pages. The Lilypad doesn’t make their templates in many formats which is a draw back but its easy enough to convert a layer into a png and than import in to your software for your cutting machine. Even with no cutter its simple to select and outline a layer to print and than cut by hand ( I did that for some of the elements as it was easier for me) Perhaps one day I may need to make a tutorial on how to follow these steps because I have a habit of assuming people know.

Before the summer I picked up Mix Tape by Forever Joy Designs this little bird and how one of her creative team members did a page forced me to buy this collection. I knew I could use the elements for a paper page quite easily but I haven’t gotten around to doing so until today. Oddly enough last month I spotted Basic Grey’s B-side at I think A Cherry on Top and knew that I had to pick up some papers and the frames to go with this digi kit. I love how things work out. Now there is a long list of digi I would love in paper and this is one so having it come together like this means it was meant to be.

You-Rock

See totally meant to be right!! These two kits were made for each other. I used Forever Joys’ bird, you rock arrow, the word strips and the tape for this LO. It all went together perfectly but the bird as on the top of the list. And this theme of music had to include my middle daughter. Shes the one who is always dancing, singing and moving. It is just so HER and the energy of this page captured her perfectly.

you-rock-stitching

I used two different types of stitching for the paper strips a larger one on the outside and a straight stitch on the others. I also ran the straight stitch around the entire LO to tie it all together and I was quite happy with it.

you-rock-cluster

As I mentioned above I outlined some of the elements for easier cutting. I did it by hand because its relaxing for me and it was only a few pieces so no threat to hand cramps. The larger paper cuts I did on my silhouette and a few bits clustered and this worked out wonderfully. I had such a fun time with this LO and it has put some pep in my step today. So go check out the template and give it a try.

Leave a Reply

